Language Fun With Kids

‘Fun’ being the key word

5 min readMar 17, 2019

--

Kids always learn more when the learning is fun. The same holds true for adults, although many adults have forgotten how to have fun (and therefore stop learning new things).

There was no school this last Friday and my daughter and her hubby both had to work so I went over to their house to spend the day with my two beloved granddaughters. I did NOT go over there to babysit! I don’t do babysitting. I don’t go over there to lord over them and be some authoritarian parental figure. I go over there to PLAY with them.

For years I have been telling them that I am NOT the boss; that they are! I am only there to talk with them, play with them and do whatever they order me to do. I am their equal; just a big and old kid. And that is how they treat me.

That’s right, I’m the cool grandpa.

But I have to admit that I employ trickery. I always try to add a little learning to the games we play. When they are having fun playing a game they don’t realize that they are learning something new. They don’t want to learn, they want to play. If I were to say to them, “Okay, now I’m going to teach you some stuff,” they would have none of it and order me to stop and play instead.

It can be quite a challenge to teach through play but it can be rewarding for both…

--

--