A Tree Without a Forest

Would you want to be one?

White Feather
5 min readJun 10, 2018

--

Ever since I was a wee tot I have been an ardent tree-hugger. No matter where I might be the first thing I do in a new place is look around at all the trees. They are divine beings that deserve acknowledgement of their presence. But so many people do not even notice them. I try to say a mental hello to every one of them.

From the backseat of my dad’s 1957 Chevy my childhood eyes were always glued to the landscape shooting past. We did a lot of traveling and moving so I saw a good deal of Turtle Island and beyond. We drove through deserts and farmland and prairie, through stressful big city traffic, through forested hills, through high-mountain pine forests. Every place had its own vibration.

As a silly kid I wanted to embrace every scene, burning it forever into the skein of time and space. I wanted to FEEL it. And I personally wanted to embrace every tree that I saw out of that back-seat window. Sometimes just a fleeting psychic acknowledgement and communication of love. Driving up in the high-altitude pine forests at the speed limit, it was impossible to give a personal howdy-doo to each and every single solitary tree. There were just too many of them.

So I instead tuned into the mass consciousness of the FOREST. And I was immediately hooked. Wow! What an exhilarating high-frequency…

--

--